Event Update: Post Awards Night

The awards night was held with great success at one of our main sponsors, the Royal Malta Yacht Club Malta, on the 17th of June. The rugby awards night went will with over 70 people attending this gala, which included dignitaries such as the Swieqi Mayor Noel Muscat. Other dignitaries included the Swieqi Football club president, Dr Justin Fenech, and also the commodore of the Royal Malta Yacht Club, Godwin Zammit.

All of the 2013/2014 season players where present for the presentation ceremony.

The list below shows the lucky few chosen for one or more of the 20 awards given out on the night. A special shout out goes to Vince Stivala who took over from our injured captain Clayton Cassar throughout the season and showed fine leadership qualities, that helped motivate the team. This was a contributing factor to the success of the club both on and off the pitch, and of course the treble: Cisk Men’s League, Mediterranean Bank Rugby Cup, and MRFU VIIs Series.

The list below shows who where presented with the awards:

The Senior’s Women’s Team

Name Award
Gabrielle Galea  Best player 2013/14
Victoria Sciberras  Best new comer 2013/14
Carla Orellana  Most Improved 2013/14
Mandy Dalli  Most committed 2013/14
Sairita Cassar  Coaches award 2013/14


The Senior’s Men’s Team 

Name Award
Vince Stivala Best player 2013/14
Anthony Julve Best new comer 2013/14
Luke Galea Most improved player 2013/14
Chris Briffa Player of the players 2013/14
Gordon Grech Coaches award 2013/14
Luis Enrique Martinez Sandoval Most committed player 2013/14
Clayton Cassar Club person of the year (Norman Morgan award) 2013/14
Daniel Groves Young player 2013/14
Jonathan Debono Freshman award 2013/14
Sebastian McDonald Most valuable back player division 1 2013/14
Daniel Gauci Most valuable back player division 2 2013/14
Anthony Harvey Most valuable forward player division 1 2013/14
Bill Oprica Most valuable forward player division 2 2013/14
Rodrick Borg Best tackler 2013/14
Jeremy Dela Most promising player 2013/14


If you are interested in joining a winning rugby team as a player, youth, coach, sponsor or associate member, check out our join rugby campaign!

  • Ben Pace 12th August 2014 at 11:21 AM

    Vince Stivala Clayton Cassar Antho Jlv Jeremy Dela Daniel Groves Seb Mac Anthony Harvey Christian Briffa Luke Galea Sairita Cassar
    Please tag the rest…

Comments are closed.